At the frontline of climate change: Key changes in the Polar regions, that call for European action 26 September 2018, European Parliament

SPEAKERS

Christel Schaldemose Member of the European Parliament (MEP)	Christel Schaldemose is a Danish politician and member of the S&D group. She's a member of the IMCO committee, and substitute in the ENVI and PEST committees. Besides that, she's a member of the EU delegation for relations with Switzerland, Norway and Iceland. She's chairing the working group on Polar Regions of the European Parliament Intergroup on "Climate Change, Biodiversity, and Sustainable Development".
Antonio Quesada, Executive Secretary of the Spanish Polar Committee	Antonio Quesada is a Professor at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid and Executive Director of the Spanish Polar Committee. From 2013 to 2017 he has been the Head of the Spanish Polar Scientific Program. Moreover, he holds the positions of National representative at Committee for Environmental Protection (Antarctic Treaty), IASC, COMNAP and European Polar Board, Deputy National Representative at the Antarctic Treaty and at the Arctic Council. Participating in different programmes within SCAR (e.g. RiSCC, AntECO) and Arctic Science Summit Week are of key interest for Mr. Quesada as well.
	Being a researcher on polar regions since 1993, on both Arctic and the Antarctic, Mr. Quesada has participated in over 15 expeditions to polar regions and PI of numerous polar projects. From this work, over 120 published papers have been published in international peer reviewed journals.

Terkel Petersen, Senior Expert for Arctic matters, European External Action Service (EEAS)	Terkel Petersen was born in Denmark in 1963. His education covers degrees in languages, economics and law as well as international relations, obtained at the Copenhagen Business School and Harvard's Kennedy School of Government (Cambridge, Massachusetts); he also studied at Università Bocconi in Milan. He is currently senior expert for Arctic matters at the EEAS in the division covering multilateral regional cooperation. Between 2012 and 2015, he was deputy head of division for the Western Balkans. He also covered Asian issues in 2010/11. He served in Geneva at the EU/Council liaison office from 2003 to 2007 (ao. disarmament affairs as well as development issues in the UN and WTO). Before this, he covered ao. multi-lateral environmental agreements (climate change, biodiversity, CITES) for the EU/Council at HQ (2001-3) and at the Danish Ministry of Energy and Environment (1993-1995 and 1999-2001).
Mininnguanq Kleist, Head of Greenland Representation to the EU	Mininnguaq Kleist has since May 2016 been the Head of the Greenland Representation to the EU in Brussels. The Greenland Representation is involved in all the different agreements and relations Greenland has to the EU - including the EU-Greenland partnership agreement, the Fisheries Partnership Agreement, the Letter of Intent on mineral resources, etc. Prior to his posting in Brussels Kleist has worked extensively on the self-government development in Greenland, including as special advisor under the Greenland-Danish Self-Government Commission in 2005-2008. From 2007 to 2009 he led the Self-Government Office under the Home Rule Government in 2007-2009, during which a popular referendum on the introduction of Self-Government was organized (2008), followed by the introduction of the Self-Government system in Greenland in 2009. Kleist subsequently worked in the management of the Department of Foreign Affairs later in 2009 - with responsibilities on climate policies, bilateral affairs and EU relations. In 2013 he took the position as director in The Premier's Office and it is from this position Kleist is a Master of Arts in Pilosophy from 2004, Århus University, Denmark. He was born in Nuuk, Greenland, in 1973, and is married to Mari.

Marie-Hélène Tusseau-Vuillemin, Scientific Director of the "Environment, Agronomy, Ecology, Earth system and Universe Science", French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation	Since March 2018, Marie-Hélène Tusseau-Vuillemin is scientific director of the "Environment, Agronomy, Ecology, Earth system and Universe Science" in the Service for Research and Innovation Strategy of the French Ministry in charge of Research. She has a 20 years research experience in the fields of marine biogeochemistry and ecotoxicology. She is the previous Director of Research at Ifremer (the French Marine Research Institute).
Katarina Gardfeldt, Director-General, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat	Since January 1 st 2018, Ms. Gardfeldt is appointed by the Swedish Government as Director-General for the Swedish Polar Research Secretariat, SPRS. She was the initiator of the Sustainable Development Solutions Network Northern Europe (SDSN NE). She is Associate Professor in Environmental Inorganic Chemistry at Chalmers University of Technology, and the previous Director of the Centre for Sustainable Development (GMV) at University of Gothenburg and Chalmers University of Technology.

Jean Louis Etienne,	Born in 1946, Dr. Jean Louis Etienne, is a French scientist, explorer, and MD in surgery, specialized in nutrition, biology
IUCN Ambassador for Polar regions and the Oceans	of the sport, and physiology of human adaptation to extreme conditions. In 1977-78, he participated in the Whitbread Round the World Race. A mountain buff, he climbed peaks in the Himalayas, Patagonia and Greenland, among others. In 1986, he became the first person to reach the North Pole single- handedly, pulling his sled for 63 days in complete solitude.
	In 1989-90 he performed the first ever traverse of the Antarctic continent with dogs, over 7 months, covering nearly 4 000 miles. He later went on to explore the Erebus volcano on Antarctica, wintered in Spitzberg on his polar vessel Antarctica, and drifted on ice over the North Pole on board the Polar Observer. In April 2010, he managed the first traverse of the Arctic Ocean in a roziere balloon. His next project (2021-23) is an exploration of the Southern Ocean on board of PolarPOD, an international oceanographic station, driven by the Antarctic Circumpolar Current.